Retention Fund

Retention Fund

The Saskatchewan Medical Association and Government of Saskatchewan have established a physicians’ Retention Fund for the purpose of providing benefits to promote and facilitate the retention of physicians in the Province of Saskatchewan. The fund provides financial rewards to physicians who practice in the province for extended periods. Physicians who practice in Saskatchewan for a defined period of time will earn annual entitlements that will be paid to them at designated intervals. 

In order to accumulate benefits, a physician must:

1. Hold licensure with the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan, and

2. Reside in Saskatchewan, and

3. Provide insured clinical services in Saskatchewan that meet the thresholds for eligibility or be in a medical administrative position approved by the Retention Fund Board.

For complete eligibility requirements or for more information about the program, contact Joelle Kostiuk, Coordinator, Membership & Benefits.

Retention Fund Information for Physicians